Skip to content

Amazon Basics FP1401M vs HMF 250423

A complete fire rating, or room for A4 documents flat?

A real fire rating has two numbers: how long, and how hot inside. The FP1401M publishes both. The HMF states 30 minutes at 843 °C (1,549 °F) and UL 72, but no class, so no internal temperature. Both hold about six liters inside; the HMF is far bigger and heavier outside, but it takes A4 paper flat, which matters for deeds and certificates that should not be folded.

Amazon Basics fireproof document box

Amazon Basics FP1401M

7.2/10

Wins 1 of 7

Check price

≈ $40

HMF A4 fireproof document box

HMF 250423

7.8/10

Wins 3 of 7

Check price

Claim against claim

Compared on FP1401M 250423
Interior 6.2 L (0.22 cu ft) 6 L (0.21 cu ft), 30.5 × 22 × 9 cm, A4 flat
Outside size and weight Not stated 36.5 × 32 × 15.5 cm (14.4 × 12.6 × 6.1 in), 8.2 kg (18 lb)
Fire duration 30 min at 843 °C (1,549 °F) 30 min at 843 °C (1,549 °F)
Internal limit stated UL 72 Class 350 (350 °F) UL 72, no class
Water Water resistant Waterproof
Construction Not stated Polycarbonate, cement-bonded fire layer
Lock Key lock, 2 keys Cylinder lock
Listed on amazon.com Yes Yes

A tick marks the better answer on that line only. Counting ticks does not decide the page — the two verdicts below do, because these products answer different questions.

Which of the two, for which home

Buy the Amazon Basics FP1401M

Buy the FP1401M when the rating matters more than the size. Both halves of it are published — thirty minutes, and an interior below the threshold at which paper survives.

Buy the HMF 250423

Buy the HMF when documents must lie flat. A folded deed or certificate creates a crease that eventually tears, and A4 capacity is the reason to accept a rating that states only half of itself.

The questions we are asked

What does Class 350 mean?

That the inside stayed below 350 °F (about 177 °C) for the stated duration. Paper chars above roughly that, so the number is the whole point of the rating. A box that publishes a duration without an internal temperature tells you only half of what matters.

Can I keep a USB stick or a hard drive in one?

Not in a paper-rated box. Digital media are damaged far below 350 °F, and a Class 350 rating says nothing about them; media need a Class 125 rating. HMF describes its box as suitable for non-magnetic media too, but states no class for them. The safe answer for backups is off-site storage.

Does either protect against theft?

No. Both are portable boxes with a simple lock: whoever finds them carries them off. They protect papers from heat and hose water, not from a burglar.

The full page for each

  • Amazon Basics FP1401M

    6.2 L · UL 72 Class 350, 30 min at 843 °C (1549 °F) · fire and water resistant · key lock, 2 keys

    A document box with a published fire rating: Amazon Basics states UL 72 Class 350 for 30 minutes at 843 °C (1549 °F), in a 6.2-liter fire and water resistant case with a mechanical key lock.

    Best for: Passports, deeds and certificates — the papers that cannot be reprinted.

    7.2/10

    ≈ $40

  • HMF 250423

    A4 · 30 min fire protection · waterproof · 36.5 × 32 × 15.5 cm (14.4 × 12.6 × 6.1 in) · polycarbonate and cement fire material

    An A4 fire and water resistant document box in thermoplastic polycarbonate with a cement-bonded fire layer, which HMF states protects papers for up to 30 minutes.

    Best for: Full A4 documents that should lie flat rather than be folded.

    7.8/10