Skip to content

Amazon Basics 25EI vs HMF 4612112

More space, or knowing exactly what you are buying?

One is bigger and hides its hinges. The other tells you how thick its steel is, which almost nobody in this family does and which lets you judge the product honestly rather than guessing.

Amazon Basics 14-liter steel home safe

Amazon Basics 25EI

8.1/10

Wins 3 of 11

Check price

≈ $58

HMF furniture safe with electronic keypad

HMF 4612112

8.1/10

Wins 5 of 11

Check price

Claim against claim

Compared on 25EI 4612112
Capacity 14 L (0.49 cu ft) 8.4 L (0.30 cu ft), inside 30.6 × 19.6 × 14 cm (A5)
Weight Not stated 4 kg (8.8 lb)
Published steel thickness Not stated 1 mm (0.04 in) walls, 3 mm (0.12 in) door
Lock Digital keypad 3- to 8-digit code
Emergency release 2 override keys Manual override key
Hinges Concealed, pry-resistant Not stated
Keypad beeps Not stated Can be muted
Shelf Adjustable shelf Not stated
Anchoring Not described in the listing Pre-drilled for wall and floor, anchors included
Power 4 × AA, not included Not stated
Fire protection None None
Listed on amazon.com Yes Yes

A tick marks the better answer on that line only. Counting ticks does not decide the page — the two verdicts below do, because these products answer different questions.

Which of the two, for which home

Buy the Amazon Basics 25EI

Buy the 25EI as the safe most households should own once: enough room for documents and valuables together, with the hinges out of reach.

Buy the HMF 4612112

Buy the HMF when you want to know what you are getting. One millimeter of wall resists hands and a screwdriver and does not resist a grinder — which is true of most safes at this price whether or not their makers say so.

The questions we are asked

Does either resist a determined attack?

No, and neither publishes a rating against one. Both are deterrent safes: they stop an opportunist walking out with jewelry in a pocket. A safe rated as a residential security container (UL 1037) or to a UL 687 TL grade is a different product at several times the price.

What is the single most important thing?

Bolting it down. An unbolted safe is a strongbox with a handle, and every one in this family is light enough to carry away and open later at leisure. The HMF is pre-drilled for wall and floor with anchors included; the 25EI listing does not describe its anchoring, so check the base for holes before relying on it, and bolt into masonry or a floor joist.

Does either protect documents from fire?

No. Both are uninsulated steel boxes, and neither states any fire rating. For deeds and drives, look at fire boxes that state a duration and an internal temperature, such as a UL 72 rating.

The full page for each

  • Amazon Basics 25EI

    14 L · digital keypad · 2 override keys · concealed anti-pry hinges · adjustable shelf · 4 × AA

    A 14-liter steel safe with a digital keypad, two emergency override keys kept separately, concealed hinges described as anti-pry, and a removable adjustable shelf. It runs on four AA cells.

    Best for: The default household safe: big enough for documents, small enough to bolt into a wardrobe floor.

    8.1/10

    ≈ $58

  • HMF 4612112

    A5 documents · 3–8 digit code, silenceable · manual override · 1 mm (0.04 in) walls, 3 mm (0.12 in) door

    A furniture safe for A5 documents with a freely programmable three-to-eight digit code, a silenceable keypad and a manual override. HMF publishes the steel thicknesses: 1 mm (0.04 in) walls and a 3 mm (0.12 in) door.

    Best for: A hotel-style installation in a cupboard, where the published steel thickness lets you judge it honestly.

    8.1/10