Skip to content

Ring Battery Video Doorbell 2K vs Reolink Video Doorbell B (2nd gen)

The Ring ecosystem and its plan, or local detection that costs nothing?

Ring bets on its app and ecosystem, and charges every month to keep the clip. Reolink classifies people, vehicles, pets and parcels on the device itself and stores the result on a card.

Ring Battery Video Doorbell 2K

Ring Battery Video Doorbell 2K

7.8/10

Wins 1 of 9

Check price

Reolink second generation battery video doorbell

Reolink Video Doorbell B (2nd gen)

8.4/10

Wins 8 of 9

Search Amazon

Claim against claim

Compared on Battery Video Doorbell 2K Video Doorbell B (2nd gen)
Resolution 2K 2K 4 MP, HDR
Zoom Up to 6× Not stated
Field of view Not stated 150° × 150° × 180°, 1:1
Detection Ring Home plan Local: person, vehicle, pet, package
Storage Cloud only, with a plan microSD up to 512 GB, Home Hub, NVR or FTP
Power Built-in battery, unit removed with the supplied tool to charge Battery, or charging from 8–24 V doorbell wiring
Stated runtime Not stated Up to 10 months at 5 min of recording a day
Free notifications Not stated With snapshot, up to 25 a day
Wi-Fi bands Not stated Dual-band
Listed on amazon.com Yes No

A tick marks the better answer on that line only. Counting ticks does not decide the page — the two verdicts below do, because these products answer different questions.

Which of the two, for which home

Buy the Ring Battery Video Doorbell 2K

Prefer the Ring for the app and the ecosystem, and only after multiplying the plan by thirty-six.

Reolink Video Doorbell B (2nd gen)

No amazon.com listing was found for this one. We hold references for other markets but none for the United States, so it may not be buyable here — which is the first thing to weigh against anything below.

Buy the Reolink to own the whole thing. Local parcel detection with no plan is the single most useful feature on this page for a household that gets deliveries.

The questions we are asked

How much difference does notification speed make?

On a doorbell, a great deal — somebody is at the door now, and a notification that arrives after they have left is a recording rather than a doorbell. Neither maker publishes a notification delay, so this page cannot compare them.

What is local detection?

The classification happens in the doorbell rather than on a server, so it works with the internet down and needs no plan. It also means nothing is uploaded for a company to process, which some households care about more than the money.

The full page for each

  • Ring Battery Video Doorbell 2K

    2K · 6× zoom · quick-release charging · two-way audio · Ring ecosystem

    Ring's current battery doorbell at 2K, with a stated six-times zoom for reading detail at distance and a built-in battery charged over USB-C once the doorbell is released with the supplied tool. Recording requires a Ring Home plan.

    Best for: A household already on Ring, where the doorbell should share the alarm and cameras' app.

    7.8/10

  • Reolink Video Doorbell B (2nd gen)

    2K 4MP · 150°×150°×180° 1:1 view · HDR · local person, vehicle, pet and parcel detection · dual-band

    The second-generation battery doorbell: the same square head-to-toe frame with HDR added, and detection that Reolink states runs locally on the device rather than in a cloud service.

    Best for: A bright doorway where a caller is backlit, and an owner who wants nothing leaving the house.

    8.4/10