Skip to content

SwitchBot Lock Ultra vs Signstek Smart Lock 128002

How many ways of opening a door does a household need?

Both fit over the existing lock and drill nothing. The SwitchBot is an all-metal body with nine months stated per charge and up to eighteen ways to open, some needing the Hub Mini; the Signstek does fingerprint, keypad code, app, Bluetooth and key.

SwitchBot Lock Ultra with touchscreen keypad

SwitchBot Lock Ultra

7.8/10

Wins 6 of 9

Search Amazon

Signstek retrofit smart lock mounted on the inside of a door

Signstek Smart Lock 128002

7.2/10

Wins 0 of 9

Search Amazon

Claim against claim

Compared on Lock Ultra Smart Lock 128002
Type Retrofit, over the thumbturn Retrofit, over the existing lock, inside key accepted
Ways to open Up to 18, some needing the Hub Mini sold separately Fingerprint, keypad code, app, Bluetooth, key; temporary codes
Body All metal, 50% slimmer than the previous generation Not stated
Power Rechargeable battery, 9 months stated, backup battery 6 × AA, runtime not stated
Auto-lock Magnetic Magnetic
Fingerprints Stored locally Stored locally
Speed 1.75 s at 20 dB Not stated
Door status Real-time alerts, door left unlocked Not stated
Ecosystems Apple Home via Matter, Alexa, Google Not stated
Listed on amazon.com No No

A tick marks the better answer on that line only. Counting ticks does not decide the page — the two verdicts below do, because these products answer different questions.

Which of the two, for which home

SwitchBot Lock Ultra

No amazon.com listing was found for this one. We hold references for other markets but none for the United States, so it may not be buyable here — which is the first thing to weigh against anything below.

Buy the Ultra for a household that wants real-time door status, a rechargeable battery and a way into Matter — counting the Hub Mini, sold separately, for part of the eighteen ways to open.

Signstek Smart Lock 128002

No amazon.com listing was found for this one. We hold references for other markets but none for the United States, so it may not be buyable here — which is the first thing to weigh against anything below.

Buy the Signstek when the need is a door that opens by fingerprint or code, with no bridge — accepting six AA batteries to keep an eye on.

The questions we are asked

Is auto-lock a good idea?

It guarantees the door is locked and it guarantees somebody will be locked out. On a door with a thumbturn inside that is an inconvenience; on a door leading to a garden with no other way back in, it is worth thinking about before switching on.

Do I need a thumbturn cylinder for these?

Not necessarily. The Signstek also fits over a key left on the inside, up to 7 mm (0.28 in) thick and protruding up to 39 mm (1.54 in), with adapters supplied; Signstek recommends an emergency-function cylinder so the outside key still works. For the SwitchBot, check compatibility with your cylinder before buying.

The full page for each

  • SwitchBot Lock Ultra

    Retrofit · up to 18 unlock methods · full metal body, 50% slimmer · 9 months stated

    SwitchBot states a next-generation motor, a full metal housing half as thick as its predecessor, up to eighteen unlocking methods with the Matter hub and touchscreen keypad, and a rechargeable main battery quoted at up to nine months.

    Best for: A door where the indoor unit needs to be as unobtrusive as possible, on a household that likes options.

    7.8/10

  • Signstek Smart Lock 128002

    Retrofit · fingerprint, app and Bluetooth · magnetic auto-lock · 6 cells · no drilling

    A retrofit lock that mounts over an existing cylinder with no drilling and no cylinder change. Signstek states fingerprint, app and Bluetooth access, magnetic auto-locking, and six batteries; the existing key still works from outside.

    Best for: A first smart lock, and particularly a rented apartment where nothing may be altered.

    7.2/10